LONDON BOROUGH OF TOWER HAMLETS

MINUTES OF THE OVERVIEW & SCRUTINY COMMITTEE

HELD AT 8.30 P.M. ON WEDNESDAY, 23 MAY 2018

COUNCIL CHAMBER - TOWN HALL MULBERRY PLACE

Members Present:

Councillor Ayas Miah (Chair)

Councillor Abdal Ullah

Councillor Dipa Das Scrutiny Lead for Place

Councillor James King

Councillor Kahar Chowdhury Scrutiny Lead for Health, Adults, and

Community

Councillor Kyrsten Perry

Councillor Marc Francis Scrutiny Lead for Resources Councillor Mohammed Pappu Scrutiny Lead for Governance

Councillor Mufeedah Bustin

Councillor Sufia Alam Scrutiny Lead for Children's Services

Councillor Andrew Wood

Co-opted Members Present:

Dr Phillip Rice Church of England Representative

Other Councillors Present:

Councillor Sirajul Islam Mayor John Biggs Councillor Denise Jones Councillor Faroque Ahmed Councillor Sabina Akhtar Councillor Rabina Khan Councillor Shah Ameen Councillor Tarik Khan

Councillor Amina Ali Councillor Gabriela Salva Macallan

Councillor Ruhul Amin Councillor Eve McQuillan Councillor Asma Begum Councillor Puru Miah

Councillor Rachel Blake Councillor Abdul Mukit MBE Councillor Kevin Brady Councillor Victoria Obaze Councillor Shad Chowdhury Councillor John Pierce Councillor David Edgar Councillor Leema Qureshi Councillor Peter Golds Councillor Candida Ronald Councillor Ehtasham Hague Councillor Zenith Rahman Councillor Muhammad Harun Councillor Dan Tomlinson

Councillor Danny Hassell Councillor Helal Uddin Councillor Mohammed Ahbab Hossain Councillor Motin Uz-Zaman Councillor Val Whitehead

Councillor Asma Islam

Apologies:

OVERVIEW & SCRUTINY COMMITTEE, 23/05/2018

SECTION ONE (UNRESTRICTED)

Councillor Bex White Joanna Hannan

Representative of Diocese of Westminster

Others Present:

Rushanara Ali – MP Bethnal Green & Bow

Constituency

Jim Fitzpatrick MP – MP Poplar and Limehouse

Constituency

Unmesh Desai – London Assembly Member

Officers Present:

Will Tuckley – (Chief Executive)

Zena Cooke – (Corporate Director, Resources)
Debbie Jones – (Corporate Director, Children's)
Asmat Hussain – (Corporate Director, Governance

and Monitoring Officer)

Denise Radley – (Corporate Director, Health, Adults &

Community)

Ann Sutcliffe – (Acting Corporate Director, Place)
Matthew Mannion – (Committee Services Manager,

Democratic Services, Governance)

Joel West – (Senior Democratic Services Officer)
Zoe Folley – (Committee Officer, Governance)

RESOLVED:

1. That the Speaker of the Council, Councillor Ayas Miah, is elected as administrative Chair of the Committee, for the purposes of this Meeting only.

1. DECLARATIONS OF DISCLOSABLE PECUNIARY INTEREST

There were no declarations of Disclosable Pecuniary Interests.

2. UNRESTRICTED REPORTS FOR CONSIDERATION

2.1 Establishment of the Scrutiny Sub-Committees and Appointment of Members to those Sub-Committees

The Committee received a report regarding the establishment of the Scrutiny Sub-Committees and Appointment of Members to those Sub-Committees.

The Chair of the Overview and Scrutiny Committee advised of the nominations for the Scrutiny Leads and portfolios as set out in resolution 1 below.

Councillor Kevin Brady **moved** and Councillor Abdal Ullah **seconded** the following amendment to the Grants Scrutiny Sub-Committee Terms of Reference.

Amendment – 3.1 (Grants Scrutiny Sub-Committee – Terms of Reference)

It is proposed to amend paragraph 3.1 of the report, to change the membership of the sub-committee from being drawn strictly from the main O&S committee, to being drawn from the council. This would bring the sub-committee in line with the health scrutiny and housing scrutiny committees, and would retain the same political balance.

The amendment also increases the number of members from three to six, in line with the allocation of places report included as part of the council's Annual General Meeting.

Proposed amendment to the terms of reference (deleted text scored out, added text underlined):

"The membership of the Grants Sub-Committee will consist of the Lead Member for Resources (or his nominated Deputy) as Chair of the Grants Sub-Committee, with the composition consisting of three <u>six</u> Members of the Overview and Scrutiny Committee. <u>council</u>, in line with proportionality rules."

The amendment was voted on and agreed.

The Chair Moved and it was:-

RESOLVED

1. That the following Members be appointed to the Scrutiny Leads posts as set out in Section 3 of the report.

Lead for Health, Adults and Community - Councillor Kahar Chowdhury

Lead for Place - Councillor Dipa Das

Lead for Children's Services - Councillor Sufia Alam

Lead for Resources - Councillor Marc Francis

Lead for Governance - Councillor Mohammed Pappu

 To note the co-option to the membership of the OSC of representatives in respect of education matters, as set out at Paragraphs 3.3 to 3.9 of the report. 3. To establish the Sub-Committee with Terms of Reference (Attached at Appendix 2 to the report) subject to the following amendment to the Grants Scrutiny Sub-Committee terms of reference.

The membership of the Grants Sub-Committee will consist of the Lead Member for Resources (or his nominated Deputy) as Chair of the Grants Sub-Committee, with the composition consisting of six Members of the council, in line with proportionality rules.

4. That the following Councillors be appointed to Chair the above Sub-Committees:

Health Scrutiny Sub-Committee - Councillor Kahar Chowdhury Housing Scrutiny Sub-Committee - Councillor Dipa Das Grants Scrutiny-Sub-Committee - Councillor Marc Francis

The meeting ended at 8.35 p.m.

Chair, Councillor Ayas Miah Overview & Scrutiny Committee